YMCA Board of Directors

The Sioux Falls Family YMCA is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors who set strategic direction and policy that guide the Y in strengthening communities through programs in youth development, healthy living and social responsibility. These dedicated volunteers provide fiduciary oversight that ensures adequate resources exist to meet annual and long-range strategic plans while sustaining current and future needs of our growing community. 


Chuck Nelson

Chief Volunteer Officer

Nelson & Nelson, CPAs, LLP

Drew Reaves


Howalt McDowell Insurance

Brian Moberly


First Premier Bank

Randy Derheim

Board Chairman


Jason Appel

Plains Commerce Bank 

John Archer

Past Chairman

Hagen, Wilka and Archer

J. Tyler Haahr

Past Chairman



Camille Lewis

Past Chairman



Phil Rysdon

Sioux Steel Company

Jeff Herbert

Camp Board President


Mike Murphy

Interim President & CEO

Camp Director

Sioux Falls Family YMCA


Joelle Johnson

David Mickelson

Ellie Hajek Smith 

Tyler Tordsen 

Paul Amundson

Derik Budig

Anshu Chandra

Haley Samuelson

Karen Vandesteeg


  • YMCA Camp Leif Ericson
  • Sioux Falls YMCA
  • Sioux Falls YMCA

Contact Us

Downtown YMCA:

220 S. Minnesota Ave., Sioux Falls, SD  57104

E. welcome@siouxfallsymca.org

Tel. 605.336.3190

Fax 605.336.3516

Youth Performance Center: 

2517 S Shirley Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106

E. ypc@siouxfallsymca.org

Tel. 605.274.9622

Camp Leif Ericson: 

2301 E 26th St, Sioux Falls, SD 57103

E. camp@siouxfallsymca.org

Tel. 605.336.2267

Youth Basketball:

220 S. Minnesota Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104

E. basketball@siouxfallsymca.org

Tel. 605.336.3190